Building Supplies

It’s less than a month until my custom 20′ tiny house trailer is delivered to my property. I can hardly wait. I feel like I’m seven years old again waiting for Christmas morning. What a great feeling after almost two years of saving, planning and designing!

Stockpile of assorted building supplies

Stockpile of assorted building supplies

In the meantime I thought I’d share some information about the building supplies I’ve been stocking up on along with a few tips on saving money.

 

Loctite construction adhesives in the 28oz. size

Loctite construction adhesive in the 28 oz. size tube

Loctite brand polyurethane construction adhesive came highly recommended by family in the construction business. I found that you can spend half as much for the same stuff if you shop smart. The standard 10 oz. tubes cost $.48 per oz. where the 28 oz. tubes only cost $.26 per oz. You can also save an additional 10% if you purchase a 12 ct. case. bringing the cost per oz. down to .24 per oz. This means you can save 50% per oz. by purchasing a full case of  the 28 oz. size tubes over a single 10 oz. tube at a time.

 

Great Stuff spray foam in the 16oz. size con compared to the 12oz. size

Great Stuff spray foam in the 16 oz. size can compared to the 12 oz. size

The Tiny Home Builders company and many others swear by this stuff. It seems the go-to for small applications of spray foam insulation. Apparently there is a very big pricing difference for the same product between Lowes and Home Depot. They both sell the same line of Great Stuff products for very close to the same price, but the big difference is the size of the cans. Whereas Lowes sells the 12 oz. cans, Homes Depot sells the 16oz. cans. That’s like getting an additional third of a can for free.

 

GAF Storm Guard underlayment 200 sq. ft.

GAF Storm Guard underlayment 200 sq. ft.

This underlayment product happened to be on sale at my local Home Depot. For almost half the cost of a similar product by Grace I was able to buy enough to cover my entire roof and then some. I also plan on using this behind my cedar shake portions of  the exterior for extra weatherproofing. This item was not listed online as I was doing my initial price comparisons. So sometimes it pays to get in the store and look around for the deals.

 

Simpson StrongTie HDU2 predeflected hold down with 1/2" x 6" stainless steel bolt

Simpson Strong-Tie HDU2 predeflected hold down with 1/2″ x 6″ stainless steel bolt

The Simpson Strong-Tie HDU2 predeflected hold down is the same used by Tumbleweed. These will be used to anchor the walls and subfloor to the trailer. They cost more than $18 a piece and do not come with the bolt pictured here. They did not carry them at my local Lowes or Home Depot, but I was able to order them from Home Depot online with free shipping.

The large stainless steel bolts are more of a specialty hardware as well and I had to go to a more specialized store to get those. Luckily I already had most of those on hand.

If you want to share any of your tiny house hauls or great finds, please leave your comments below.

Categories: Tiny Home: Arborion | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

