Construction Prep: Leveling and Stairs

This week I was able to make some progress leading up to the tiny house construction. Two of my neighbors and I were able to maneuver the trailer into its final position. It took some coordination, but in no more than two minutes we had it right where I intended.

Once the trailer was in place I began the tedious process of leveling. I’m not sure if a second person helping would have made this easier, but I spent most of my time moving the levels to check the trailer in several places after each adjustment. I was also using a great, but old-fashion, jack to raise the corners of the trailer to place my jack stands.  This was a slow process, but I am thankful that I had them. In the end I settled for really close to level. I figure I’d check back throughout the week to see if anything has settled before making final adjustments.

The slow process of leveling the trailer.

The slow process of leveling the trailer.

Here are some tips to leveling your trailer:

  • Start by using the trailer jack to level the trailer front to back.
  • Use your level on the main body of the trailer frame. Wheel wells, support rails and flanges may not be square with the rest of the trailer.
  • Then find the highest corner and work to the lowest. It makes sense to raise everything up rather than to have to excavate.
  • Use two levels if you’ve got them. Place them perpendicular to each other at the corner as you work.
  • Watch your levels as you use your jack to raise and lower your corners. This will give you a good idea of just how high you will need to raise each corner. Raise the corner just past level and shim up the jack stands. Then lower the trailer and watch the level as the trailer comes to rest on the jack stand.

For some warm-up building I designed and built some stairs for the tiny house. I built them out of 2x pressure-treated lumber and stainless steel screws with walnut stain. Here are some photos of the process.

Stairs design in Sketchup.

Stairs design in Sketchup.

Stair pieces cut and sanded.

Stair pieces cut and sanded.

Stained and drying.

Stained and drying.

Completed stairs and trailer.

Completed stairs and trailer.

Completed stairs on a temporary paver walkway.

Completed stairs on a temporary paver walkway.

Categories: Tiny Home: Arborion | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Construction Prep: Leveling and Stairs

  1. Sabrina

    Wow! It is so amazing that stairs can make it seem so much more real. I can’t wait to see it next month.

  2. I’m looking forward to your visit as well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

