Shaping Cedar

It’s been twelve years now since I first discovered Jay Shaffer and his Tumbleweed Homes. I fell in love with his simple, honest designs and use of good quality wood. Using cedar as my main exterior was locked in from the beginning in part from his iconic Tumbleweed look.

Cedar siding can get expensive, but at least it’s a tiny house with tiny walls. As a general idea, estimate about $2 per square foot of cedar siding. I chose to order cedar boards rather than cedar siding because there was only one profile option available locally, and it was not what I was looking for. So it was back to my Dad’s workshop to make our own.

Cedar board delivery

Cedar board delivery

I took some time to turn the best face up and choose a top and bottom.

Orienting the boards for the shaper

Orienting the boards for the shaper

Stacked cedar ready to be fed through the shaper for the first pass

Stacked cedar ready to be fed through the shaper for the first pass

The first pass is set up to cut the cove that will be at the top, front face of the siding. Then comes the the rabbit or notch for the bottom, back face of the siding. This allows them to interlock, or lap, and shed water.

Feeding the cedar boards through the shaper

Feeding the cedar boards through the shaper

The cedar can now be called dutch lap siding

The cedar can now be called Dutch lap siding

The siding is stickered for drying

The siding is stickered to allow air flow for drying

Enough siding to cover Arborion, I hope

Enough siding to cover Arborion, I hope

Scout guards her toy

Scout guards her toy closely, *MINE*

Categories: Tiny Home: Arborion | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Shaping Cedar

  1. You are lucky your Dad has a wood shop and is helping you with your big project. That is cool. I plan to just buy my cedar siding ready to go. ;-)

    • Well, I’m lucky to have him as my Dad period. Having him help me build my tiny house is a BIG bonus. One of those father and son projects we’ll remember for the rest of our lives.

      I’m thinking the cedar prices will be cheaper where you live because that’s where it all grows. You may even have a bigger selection of siding profiles.

  2. WOW VERY NICE. I NEED YOU GUYS HERE IN WISCONSIN STEVENS POINT. JUST WAITING FOR THE 20FT. TRAILER. MONEY HELPS. I LIKE THE DOG TOO. WHO CAN I TRUST WITH THIS PROJECT??? OH MY…

  3. Lookin’ Good!!!! Sincerely, Linda On Apr 30, 2015 12:19 PM, “Verdant Passages” wrote:

    > Zanthan posted: “It’s been twelve years now since I first discovered Jay > Shaffer and his Tumbleweed Homes. I fell in love with his simple, honest > designs and use of good quality wood. Using cedar as my main exterior was > locked in from the beginning in part from his iconic” >

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

