Maple & Walnut Walls

For several weekends my Dad and I have been installing lightweight 1/2″ plywood as the finished walls inside the tiny house Arborion. Other than a few trim pieces, the walls are complete. Many of the pieces were fairly complex. They required careful measuring and several trips back to the work area under my carport to fine tune the shaping of each section. Like the ceiling, each section was installed one piece at a time with super construction adhesive and finish nails.

SAMSUNG CSC

My Dad applying construction adhesive before attaching the maple plywood panel

My brother, Daniel, was able to to help out during the first weekend of wall installation which was awesome. Having an extra set of hands and eyes on some of these large intricate sections was very helpful.

SAMSUNG CSC

Daniel and Dad working together on a complicated panel section

The walnut portion of the walls make up the lower 30 inches in a wainscot sort of appearance, while the maple fills the rest of the walls and ceiling. I am currently in the time consuming process of filling the small nail holes in preparation for the finishes I will be applying soon.

SAMSUNG CSC

Walnut panels in the bathroom

SAMSUNG CSC

Back of Arborion and bathroom

SAMSUNG CSC

Front of Arborion and reading nook

SAMSUNG CSC

Wall sections complete

Categories: Tiny Home: Arborion | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Maple & Walnut Walls

  1. Looks very nice!

  2. Love the door!

  3. Daniel

    Wow! You guys have done a lot of work since I was there last. The walls look amazing and so clean. Very excited to visit again soon

  4. Nik Summers

    Zanthan,

    Hi!

    I am a Ph.D. student in sociology at Indiana University and I am studying tiny homes for my dissertation (people living in them, legalization efforts, etc.). I am writing to ask if you would be interested in taking my Qualtrics survey? It’s short (about 10 mins), will really help me produce high-quality research, and you have the chance to enter yourself in a gift card raffle if you’re interested.

    Link: https://iu.co1.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_cBjkCE36OqRXVR3

    Contact me at nesummer@umail.iu.edu or at 812-219-5214 if you have any questions or just want to confirm that I’m a real person and that the link is not spam. Thanks!

    Nik Summers
    Sociology Department
    Indiana University

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

